jump to navigation

Stuff I’ve Been Reading: Everyone Else’s Girl by Megan Crane January 10, 2006

Posted by Amy in Uncategorized.
trackback

I picked up Megan Crane’s first book, English as a Second Language, at a bookstore last year when I was shopping with giftcard money. It was a light, fun read, which is what I was looking for. It’s hard to find those books–the not-insulting easy reads, I mean. Everyone Else’s Girl, her second novel, is another quick, pleasurable read. The main character learns to start figuring out who she wants to be, rather than who everyone else wants her to be, something I identify with.

Meredith, the narrator, is moving away from being the girl who smiles because people tell her to. Every woman I know has had that happen to her repeatedly, because of course good girls are always cheerful and pleasant. Last time someone tried it on me, I stared at him and said, “It’s not my job to smile for you.” I didn’t say “fucker,” but it was implied in my tone. Jesus. I could have been mourning my dead father or something. I wasn’t, but is it really my job to look cheerful for the masses? When I bring this up in classes, male students are always surprised when I ask how many people have been told by strangers to “c’mon, smile–it can’t be THAT bad” and every woman in the class raises her hand.

Comments»

1. Megan Crane - January 15, 2006

I LOVE that description of Meredith!

I’m so glad you liked it– and ESL, too!

Thanks,

Megan

2. teachermama - January 15, 2006

Thanks, Megan! You’re my first official comment, since I haven’t actually told anyone about this blog yet. Hmm, maybe I’ll go do that now.

3. Megan Crane - January 17, 2006

Luckily, I’m a Googling fool!

I’m honored to be your first commenter!


Leave a Reply

