jump to navigation

Patience January 2, 2006

Posted by Amy in Uncategorized.
trackback

Okay, so I’m a few days late with this, but what the hell. Here are my New Year’s resolutions:

1. Be patient. With myself, with my kids, with Mr. T, with everyone. And, you know, with myself when I fail to be patient.

2. Stop defending my parenting choices–even in my mind. I’m being the best mom I know how to be. That’s all I have to know. Questioning, pondering, discussing–all good, but eventually I’ve got to, you know, LIVE this life, too.

I’m pretty damn thankful for this life o’ mine right now: Mr. T wrote an amazing essay about his involvement in the kids’ baseball lives which made me realize anew how lucky I am to be in a marriage where we can both grow and change and challenge and support each other; V is writing a NOVEL of his own; H is surprisingly kind and generous when playing computer games (“Come here, Mom! I want you to play this game! I’ll show you how it works.”) and still loves to snuggle with me, even though he gets taller by the minute; J is truly what people mean when they say someone is “just delightful”–kind, funny, creative, loving, and able to play alone quite happily (while using the word “quite” regularly as she talks to her dolls).

So I’ll try to maintain the status quo, only with a little more patience thrown in.

Comments»

1. Buzz - January 25, 2006

teachermama, you’re the best!


Leave a Reply

